Roster editing using CE

A hub for everything related to NBA 2K18 modding. Releases, previews, requests, and other modding discussion belongs here.

Roster editing using CE

Postby CarolusXCI on Fri Sep 15, 2017 7:38 pm

Last edited by CarolusXCI on Sun Oct 15, 2017 7:13 pm, edited 9 times in total.
User avatar
CarolusXCI
 
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:23 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby maumau78 on Fri Sep 15, 2017 7:45 pm

Hi Bro,

can we change teams colors without being overwrite by 2k ?
"I open at the close"

Dumbledore
User avatar
maumau78
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 2321
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:26 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby CarolusXCI on Fri Sep 15, 2017 8:42 pm

maumau78 wrote:Hi Bro,

can we change teams colors without being overwrite by 2k ?


hello maumau,

Look, just changed one of the shoe colors to neon green:

Image

I don't know for how long this will be possible though.
User avatar
CarolusXCI
 
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:23 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby maumau78 on Fri Sep 15, 2017 9:20 pm

CarolusXCI wrote:
maumau78 wrote:Hi Bro,

can we change teams colors without being overwrite by 2k ?


hello maumau,

Look, just changed one of the shoe colors to neon green:

[ Image ]

I don't know for how long this will be possible though.


Can you try change socks color?

BTW I backup the .exe so In the worst case we can use that version of the game... (Y)
"I open at the close"

Dumbledore
User avatar
maumau78
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 2321
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:26 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby Onegreatrace on Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:52 pm

What all can we do with this?
User avatar
Onegreatrace
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 2:44 am

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby Shuajota on Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:44 pm

Cool!! great news guys.
Follow me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dnaobb/ - Subscribe to my Youtube channel: http://www.youtube.com/c/DNAOfBasketball
User avatar
Shuajota
 
Posts: 2306
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby rickberge on Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:54 pm

What's CE?
rickberge
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 3:06 am

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby Andrew on Sat Sep 16, 2017 12:02 am

rickberge wrote:What's CE?


Cheat Engine.
NLSC Webmaster/Administrator
Image
Contact: Email | Twitter
Release Topics: NBA Live 08 | NBA Live 07 | NBA Live 06 | NBA Live 2005 | NBA Live 2004
Story Topics: NBA 2K19 | NBA 2K13 | NBA Live 06 (Part 2) | NBA Live 06 (HOF) | NBA Live 2004 (HOF)
NLSC: Podcast | The Friday Five | Monday Tip-Off | Wayback Wednesday | 20th Anniversary of NBA Live | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube


Support The NLSC Hosting Fund: Patreon | GoFundMe

Image
Like my work? Want to help out with the NLSC Hosting Fund? Please consider leaving a tip!
User avatar
Andrew
The One Admin
Administrator
 
Posts: 105919
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 9:51 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby rickberge on Sat Sep 16, 2017 1:24 am

Andrew wrote:
rickberge wrote:What's CE?


Cheat Engine.


Okay thanks.

Can cheat engine edit things like players draft year and stats? I want to make some created players with specific draft years and past season stats
rickberge
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 3:06 am

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby PeacemanNOT on Sat Sep 16, 2017 2:12 am

This is great to hear! I hope they don't patch this and stop us from editing accesory colours.
User avatar
PeacemanNOT
Useless Member
Contributor
 
Posts: 2348
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 2:02 am
Location: Ireland

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby TGsoGood on Sat Sep 16, 2017 2:26 am

You guys should be able to swap and find CF id's also. I was at home for a few minutes and was able to find cheat engine CF id value while in the edit player menu. Unfortunately I had to get back to the hospital.

If u want to search for cf id just start with one that you already know (lebron is 1013, melo 1015)
Consider donating: http://cash.me/$TheJohnsonFamily or http://paypal.me/4TheGoods
Follow me on twitter @TGsoGood
Check me out on youtube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPydhZ ... PeRSmEVynQ
User avatar
TGsoGood
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 3913
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 5:03 am
Location: Nashville, TN

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby CarolusXCI on Sat Sep 16, 2017 7:21 am

maumau78 wrote:Can you try change socks color?


I tried to find the memory address for the socks, but didn't have any success. This year, undershirts have their own team colors, as well as compression shorts/pants, rubber bands and so forth. It's a mess.

Image

Socks seem to have their own texture, idk..
User avatar
CarolusXCI
 
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:23 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby CarolusXCI on Sat Sep 16, 2017 7:23 am

Euroleague teams are still in the roster. They just don't have any logos/jerseys/court/players.
User avatar
CarolusXCI
 
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:23 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby PeacemanNOT on Sat Sep 16, 2017 7:31 am

CarolusXCI wrote:
maumau78 wrote:Can you try change socks color?


I tried to find the memory address for the socks, but didn't have any success. This year, undershirts have their own team colors, as well as compression shorts/pants, rubber bands and so forth. It's a mess.

[ Image ]

Socks seem to have their own texture, idk..

Wait so this means each accessory has its own dedicated accessory colour? That's less convenient but could turn out better for more customisation.
User avatar
PeacemanNOT
Useless Member
Contributor
 
Posts: 2348
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 2:02 am
Location: Ireland

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby CarolusXCI on Sat Sep 16, 2017 7:42 am

PeacemanNOT wrote:Wait so this means each accessory has its own dedicated accessory colour? That's less convenient but could turn out better for more customisation.


Yea, almost. All wrist accessories seem to share the same team colors, elbow ones share another set of colors, arm sleeves another one and so forth. I didn't even bother mapping everything because the amount of info is kinda overwhelming.
User avatar
CarolusXCI
 
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:23 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby Shuajota on Sat Sep 16, 2017 7:53 am

CarolusXCI wrote:Euroleague teams are still in the roster. They just don't have any logos/jerseys/court/players.

How can I unlock those teams?
Follow me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dnaobb/ - Subscribe to my Youtube channel: http://www.youtube.com/c/DNAOfBasketball
User avatar
Shuajota
 
Posts: 2306
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby CarolusXCI on Sat Sep 16, 2017 8:04 am

Shuajota wrote:
CarolusXCI wrote:Euroleague teams are still in the roster. They just don't have any logos/jerseys/court/players.

How can I unlock those teams?


You need to change team types from 08 to 00, but it's kinda pointless because these teams don't have anything that characterizes them as a team besides their names (as I said, no logos, no court, no jersyes, no players, no custom team colors, nothing).

From last year's thread:

Image

This year you have to change exactly the same address that was highlighted there.

Some values that I gathered yesterday:
00 - regular team
04 - classic team
08 - euroleague team
58 - expansion team
60 - all-time team
User avatar
CarolusXCI
 
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:23 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby Shuajota on Sat Sep 16, 2017 8:16 am

Thanks mate, sorry for my clumsiness, but I have never used ce. Only I use it with the PeacemaNOT´s tutorial. How can I see that screen? I know where I have the memorie viewer, but What text do I have to introduce in ce? Im in string / UTF-16 mode.
Follow me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dnaobb/ - Subscribe to my Youtube channel: http://www.youtube.com/c/DNAOfBasketball
User avatar
Shuajota
 
Posts: 2306
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby PeacemanNOT on Sat Sep 16, 2017 8:25 am

Shuajota wrote:Thanks mate, sorry for my clumsiness, but I have never used ce. Only I use it with the PeacemaNOT´s tutorial. How can I see that screen? I know where I have the memorie viewer, but What text do I have to introduce in ce? Im in string / UTF-16 mode.

Right click an address (in this case a team name) and press "browse memory region".
User avatar
PeacemanNOT
Useless Member
Contributor
 
Posts: 2348
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 2:02 am
Location: Ireland

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby CarolusXCI on Sat Sep 16, 2017 8:41 am

- Using a hex editor (the simpler, the better.. I use one called HxD), write the name of the team you want to find. For instance, "Dallas", "Mavericks", "Wizards", whatever.

- There'll be an array of bytes that represent the name you just wrote. For "Dallas", this value will be "44 61 6C 6C 61 73". However, if you search for this exact value, probably you won't find anything. So...

- Insert "00" between every byte. So "44 61 6C 6C 61 73" becomes "44 00 61 00 6C 00 6C 00 61 00 73" (which becomes "D.a.l.l.a.s"), for instance. You can now search for this value using CE. In "value type", select "array of bytes". You will find like 100 instances. So..

- Add some "00" before the "44" (example). This way you search only for instances where there are a bunch of zeroes prior to the team name, which is usually the case in regions like the one you want to edit.

- Even if you do this, you still are going to find something like 15 instances, all of them similar to the one from that screenshot. Some of them are all-time teams (you'll see the names), retro teams ("Dallas" has two, for example), and unfortunately some duplicates of the regular teams. Some instances don't change anything upon editing. There's only one that is responsible for the team you want to edit. Usually it is one of the last ones displayed on the list.

- Browse the memory region of the chosen instance. Copy all the bytes from the first name of the team until the first name of the next team. Paste on your hex editor. Then look for the bytes localized in the same place as the highlighted byte on that screenshot. If the team is regular, 00 will be there. If it's a classic team, 04. All-time team, 60. If you use HxD, the byte you want to change will be exactly at the last position of the row 6E0.

- As soon as you learned exactly where the byte is, return to the memory browse and change the byte. You just changed the team type. Save your roster in game and there you go.

Sorry for english mistakes..
User avatar
CarolusXCI
 
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:23 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby Dee4Three on Sat Sep 16, 2017 8:43 am

CarolusXCI wrote:Euroleague teams are still in the roster. They just don't have any logos/jerseys/court/players.


So the faces are still in the games files?
"I don't know if I practiced more than anybody, but I sure practiced enough. I still wonder if somebody - somewhere - was practicing more than me." - Larry Bird

Check out my YouTube channel

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvHJXrqit8Dc6HBY5P6EmAA
User avatar
Dee4Three
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 7373
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 1:34 pm
Location: New Hampshire, USA

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby CarolusXCI on Sat Sep 16, 2017 8:44 am

Dee4Three wrote:
CarolusXCI wrote:Euroleague teams are still in the roster. They just don't have any logos/jerseys/court/players.


So the faces are still in the games files?


I'm not sure yet.
User avatar
CarolusXCI
 
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:23 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby Dee4Three on Sat Sep 16, 2017 8:44 am

I'll check in a few anyway.
"I don't know if I practiced more than anybody, but I sure practiced enough. I still wonder if somebody - somewhere - was practicing more than me." - Larry Bird

Check out my YouTube channel

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvHJXrqit8Dc6HBY5P6EmAA
User avatar
Dee4Three
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 7373
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 1:34 pm
Location: New Hampshire, USA

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby CasE on Sat Sep 16, 2017 8:52 am

Some of them are in. Most of them are deleted. Checked with limnono before.
CasE
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 10:07 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: Roster editing using CE

Postby Shuajota on Sat Sep 16, 2017 8:55 am

Thanks to Limnono, we can recover the euroleague 2k17 cfs!
Image
Follow me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dnaobb/ - Subscribe to my Youtube channel: http://www.youtube.com/c/DNAOfBasketball
User avatar
Shuajota
 
Posts: 2306
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Next

Return to NBA 2K18 Modding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], samhome35 and 2 guests