Workout Regime Question

Other video games, TV shows, movies, general chit-chat...this is an all-purpose off-topic board where you can talk about anything that doesn't have its own dedicated section.

Workout Regime Question

Postby Cpt(K) on Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:36 pm

Hey there,

So its been a while and I've graduated, have a job, and am looking forward to the summer . . . but I want to get in shape (cue the "swole" memes). Time isn't necessarily a concern, I mean, I've survived running around with kiddos at a summer camp for several years as I am. I'll be ecstatic if I can see and feel a difference by June or July though. What kind of plans do you guys know of? I don't imagine all of us are skinny "hardgainers" (I'm new to the terminology too), but I suspect a couple of you know a thing or two regardless.

I'm 5'11" (Some say 6'0"), weighing in at about 140 pounds. How would I begin? I'm a horrible eater, meaning, I'm not consistent and skip meals regularly :lol: , do you know of a meal plan? Should I try protein shakes or other supplements?
Cpt(K)

Re: Workout Regime Question

Postby [Q] on Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:51 pm

Holy shit, I thought I was skinny. A few years back I was 5'7" 125 lbs. and wondered why I could never gain weight. I kinda already knew in the back if my mind I wasn't eating enough. Sometimes I'd think I would be eating "a lot" but I never really knew the magnitude of the situation until I started reading more about nutrition. It's just as important if not more than the actual workouts.

So I made an effort to eat more, and started doing 2 a days at the gym and gained 20 lbs which is ridiculous because it was like 15% of my total weight. I was a little soft at my heaviest but I could've kept going had I tried. I wound up cutting back and am at a solid 140. The big thing is don't get caught up on the number on the scale, or feeling embarrassed or skinny shamed by other people. You will get there as long as you put in the work.