Question about an out-of-bound issue

Like real basketball, as well as basketball video games? Talk about the NBA, NCAA, and other professional and amateur basketball leagues here.

Question about an out-of-bound issue

Postby yosifun on Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:04 am

I have a question concerning an out-of-bounds issue.
According to the rules, can a player come into the court from out-of-bounds and get the ball from a pass? does he need to be on the court a certain amount of seconds before he gets the ball? maybe he needs both feet to touch the court before touching the ball?

Is the rule the same for NBA and European basketball?
User avatar
yosifun
 
Posts: 1390
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 12:33 am
Location: Israel

Postby Drex on Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:54 am

AFAIK, he needs at least one feet in the court (and the other one in the air), otherwise he would be out of bounds, even if he's jumping towards the court.
User avatar
Drex
You bastards!!!
 
Posts: 6074
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 10:48 am
Location: Iquique, Chile

Postby Fresh8 on Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:55 am

I think this would be the same for all basketball... and I'm sure it is right. Correct me if I'm wrong.

According to the rules, can a player come into the court from out-of-bounds and get the ball from a pass?


Yes

does he need to be on the court a certain amount of seconds before he gets the ball?


No

maybe he needs both feet to touch the court before touching the ball?


He should be in-bounds, on the court when he receives the pass. Neither foot should be out of bounds.
User avatar
Fresh8
The poster formerly known as Sit
 
Posts: 14872
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 5:19 pm

Postby Sauru on Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:17 am

rule is, both feet have to be planted in bounds prior to him touching the ball for him to be considered back in bounds.
User avatar
Sauru
 
Posts: 7726
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 11:01 am

Postby Fresh8 on Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:19 am

both feet have to be planted in bounds prior to him touching the ball for him to be considered back in bounds


I think what Drex said about one foot in bounds and one foot in the air is still legit. Therefore, both feet don't have to be touching the court, in-bounds. :wink:
User avatar
Fresh8
The poster formerly known as Sit
 
Posts: 14872
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 5:19 pm

Postby benji on Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:24 am

Section I-Player The player is out-of-bounds when he touches the floor or any object on or outside a boundary. For location of a player in the air, his position is that from which he last touched the floor.

http://www.nba.com/analysis/rules_8.htm ... rticleList
User avatar
benji
 
Posts: 14545
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 9:09 am

Postby Fresh8 on Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:27 am

My bad. According to the rule Benji posted, I guess it means both feet do have to touch the court before touching the ball. Cheers (Y)
User avatar
Fresh8
The poster formerly known as Sit
 
Posts: 14872
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 5:19 pm

Postby -Young Buck- on Thu Nov 08, 2007 3:43 pm

This thread is out of bounds.
Image
User avatar
-Young Buck-
 
Posts: 1384
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 6:00 am

Postby Patr1ck on Thu Nov 08, 2007 5:58 pm

Foul on number 6.
Patr1ck
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 13340
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 5:54 pm
Location: Pasadena, California, US

Postby yosifun on Fri Nov 09, 2007 8:34 am

According to your posts, my friend says that at least one body part ( :? ) should touch the in-bounds and then the player is considered in-bounds.
I agree with Sauru, that both feet should touch the in-bounds and then the player is considered in-bounds.

What is the right answer?
User avatar
yosifun
 
Posts: 1390
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 12:33 am
Location: Israel

Postby Fresh8 on Fri Nov 09, 2007 9:05 am

The latter part is right. Before receiving the pass back, the player should have already come in-bounds (both feet in the court).
User avatar
Fresh8
The poster formerly known as Sit
 
Posts: 14872
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 5:19 pm

Postby Raps13 on Fri Nov 09, 2007 12:11 pm

Sit wrote:My bad. According to the rule Benji posted, I guess it means both feet do have to touch the court before touching the ball. Cheers (Y)


No it doesn't. If he touches the floor with one foot and the other is in the air he is inbounds because according to the rule his foot is considered to be in the place of the last point touched on the ground
Image
User avatar
Raps13
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 6:35 am
Location: Toronto

Postby J J on Fri Nov 09, 2007 6:32 pm

You have to have your feet back in-bounds do be considered in-bounds and you are in it the moment your feet went back in.

Just to clear you up:

One foot in-bound and the other in the air: It depends on where the foot in the air has last touched.

Feet in the air:
It depends on where your feet have last touched.
User avatar
J J
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:22 pm
Location: Davao, Philippines

Postby yosifun on Fri Nov 09, 2007 11:08 pm

So to sum it all up, both feet should touch the in-bound in order for the player to be passed.

Thanks for the feedback guys :wink:
User avatar
yosifun
 
Posts: 1390
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 12:33 am
Location: Israel


Return to NBA & Basketball

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests