Is it possible to put in a patch to get CPU's out of Live run??

Talk about NBA Live 16 here.

Is it possible to put in a patch to get CPU's out of Live run??

Postby Beavis_5000 on Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:52 am

It seems like it probably isnt but I am just wondering?
Beavis_5000
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 3:26 am

Re: Is it possible to put in a patch to get CPU's out of Live run??

Postby Andrew on Thu Jan 28, 2016 9:10 am

Possible? I mean, I suppose EA could do it. Likely? Probably not. The whole reason CPU players are in there is to allow you to still play when you don't have ten users available.
NLSC Webmaster/Administrator
Image
Contact: Email | Twitter
Release Threads: NBA Live 08 | NBA Live 07 | NBA Live 06 | NBA Live 2005 | NBA Live 2004
Story Threads: NBA 2K13 | NBA Live 06 (Part 2) | NBA Live 06 (HOF) | NBA Live 2004 (HOF)
NLSC: Podcast | The Friday Five | Monday Tip-Off | Wayback Wednesday | 20th Anniversary of NBA Live | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube


Support The NLSC Hosting Fund: Patreon | GoFundMe

Image
Like my work? Want to help out with the NLSC Hosting Fund? Please consider leaving a tip!
User avatar
Andrew
45? That's a bad luck number!
Administrator
 
Posts: 104817
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Is it possible to put in a patch to get CPU's out of Live run??

Postby Beavis_5000 on Fri Jan 29, 2016 5:57 am

Yeah I really wish they would patch that out. I would rather sit in a lobby for 5 minutes and wait for it to fill up than go in with CPU's and most people I run into are the same. At least if I know I am not going into a game with CPU's I can walk away and go get a drink or use the rest room. As of right now, while I am in a lobby, I have to sit the whole 30 second count down to make sure I dont get into some BS game with CPU's. It is especially aggrivating if I am in a good lobby with 10 people and the game ends. Instead of running to the rest room or whatever I have to sit and babysit the lobby to make sure no one leaves and I dont go into the next game with CPU's. Its like no breaks until I completely go back to the main menu.

Good lobby's are hard to find and it would make it so much easier if CPU's were just taken out.

Countless 10 man lobbies have been ruined because someone will back out the last few seconds. Then it is a chain reaction of the whole lobby saying "wtf why did they leave" and then everyone else backs out while they have the chance before the timer ends and we have to go in with CPU's.

Everyone is excited because we have been looking for a good lobby for 5-10 minutes and then it is a huge let down because someone backs out. Seems like a minor issue but it is my biggest issue with the game right now and others too.

We have Pro Am if we want to play with or against CPU's. They need to take it out of Live Run.
Beavis_5000
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 3:26 am

Re: Is it possible to put in a patch to get CPU's out of Live run??

Postby Pdub on Fri Jan 29, 2016 6:54 am

Beavis_5000 wrote:Yeah I really wish they would patch that out. I would rather sit in a lobby for 5 minutes and wait for it to fill up than go in with CPU's and most people I run into are the same. At least if I know I am not going into a game with CPU's I can walk away and go get a drink or use the rest room. As of right now, while I am in a lobby, I have to sit the whole 30 second count down to make sure I dont get into some BS game with CPU's. It is especially aggrivating if I am in a good lobby with 10 people and the game ends. Instead of running to the rest room or whatever I have to sit and babysit the lobby to make sure no one leaves and I dont go into the next game with CPU's. Its like no breaks until I completely go back to the main menu.

Good lobby's are hard to find and it would make it so much easier if CPU's were just taken out.

Countless 10 man lobbies have been ruined because someone will back out the last few seconds. Then it is a chain reaction of the whole lobby saying "wtf why did they leave" and then everyone else backs out while they have the chance before the timer ends and we have to go in with CPU's.

Everyone is excited because we have been looking for a good lobby for 5-10 minutes and then it is a huge let down because someone backs out. Seems like a minor issue but it is my biggest issue with the game right now and others too.

We have Pro Am if we want to play with or against CPU's. They need to take it out of Live Run.


Thinking it's one way or the other isn't the answer, imo. Some people would rather play 5 on 5 with cpu players to fill the team and a few people they know along with cpu players that they have certain control over, instead of randoms who at any moment can screw the game over.

Having an option is the answer for people who don't like playing with cpu AI. Adding 2 on 2, 3 on 3, and 4 on 4 so that you can run an all-human game is the option you need. So, when a couple players back out of the lobby, you have the option of changing the players per team to adjust for the amount of human players still in the lobby. If it's an odd amount of humans, then the lobby host should have the option of allowing one cpu teammate(along with an option to allow a human to join mid-game) or kicking an odd player, or even having that player become captain of the next squad, allowing them to pick up players from the losing squad. Of course, they would have to be willing to wait/watch the game, just like 2K's MyPark.
Pdub
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 13209
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 5:54 pm
Location: Pasadena, California, US

Re: Is it possible to put in a patch to get CPU's out of Live run??

Postby Andrew on Fri Jan 29, 2016 8:22 am

The thing is, not everyone wants to wait five minutes or more to get a game started. It's one of the criticisms that's been made of the "Got Next" approach in MyPARK in NBA 2K: while it makes sense and it adds to the park atmosphere, some gamers want to immediately jump in and start playing, instead of waiting around. The presence of CPU players is meant to account for people backing out last moment, so that you can still have a game instead of going back to waiting for enough people. Or, if you don't have enough people to begin with, you can still get a game going. It's not to everyone's tastes, but it serves a purpose.

I'm with Pat here, the best solution moving forward would be to allow for both scenarios instead of only catering to one preference.
NLSC Webmaster/Administrator
Image
Contact: Email | Twitter
Release Threads: NBA Live 08 | NBA Live 07 | NBA Live 06 | NBA Live 2005 | NBA Live 2004
Story Threads: NBA 2K13 | NBA Live 06 (Part 2) | NBA Live 06 (HOF) | NBA Live 2004 (HOF)
NLSC: Podcast | The Friday Five | Monday Tip-Off | Wayback Wednesday | 20th Anniversary of NBA Live | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube


Support The NLSC Hosting Fund: Patreon | GoFundMe

Image
Like my work? Want to help out with the NLSC Hosting Fund? Please consider leaving a tip!
User avatar
Andrew
45? That's a bad luck number!
Administrator
 
Posts: 104817
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Is it possible to put in a patch to get CPU's out of Live run??

Postby Beavis_5000 on Sat Jan 30, 2016 1:46 am

5 minutes was an exaggeration to get my point across lol. Even adding 30 seconds to the timer would probly allow for lobbies to fill up and help the issue although just eliminating CPU's in general would be way better. Lobbies usually fill up with about 7-8 or even 9 players pretty quick. I would imagine it wouldnt take too much longer to completely fill the lobby up. If it takes 5 minutes then that becomes more of a matchmaking issue.

And players having control over a CPU is one of the biggest problems with having CPU's. CPU's offer even more of a chance for randoms to do stupid crap. Players having control over CPU's is one of the main reasons I am saying they need to go.

Put some time in on Live Run and you will see the obvious issue of CPU's. Anyone who has put enough time in on Live Run does not want CPU's on there team because a bad random player can make things much worse with a CPU.

And of course I agree that in the long run having different options is the best idea but that is kind of not possible in this situation as far as I know.

CPU's need to go if all possible. If you want CPU's we have a mode for that, Pro Am. There is basically no option for all 5 on 5 right now.
Beavis_5000
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 3:26 am

Re: Is it possible to put in a patch to get CPU's out of Live run??

Postby Pdub on Sat Jan 30, 2016 5:58 am

The only option for 5 on 5 right now is being social and interacting with players who will communicate with you. It takes a little work, but over the months with my sporadic time playing the game and interacting with twitch users I've gotten some fun 10 human player action. If I expected that everyday, I would be fooling myself because the game just isn't that popular. With that said, you really have to find a couple groups of people to blend with to make that happen.

Where are you from and what time do you play? I haven't played for a bit, but I would consider jumping in with you.
Pdub
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 13209
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 5:54 pm
Location: Pasadena, California, US

Re: Is it possible to put in a patch to get CPU's out of Live run??

Postby Beavis_5000 on Sat Jan 30, 2016 8:25 am

Interacting and finding friends could definitely help.

Right now one has to lobby jump for 5 minutes or so to find a 10 man lobby. It makes it more frustrating to think that all it would take is to have CPU's taken out so I could just sit in a lobby for a minute and let it fill up rather than have a lobby fill up with 6 or 7 people and then have to back out because no one else gets put in. Then I go into another lobby with 6 or 7 more totally different people and the same thing happens. Why couldn't we all have been in the same lobby in the first place?

Taking 5 minutes to find a game might not seem like much but it adds up in between every game.

I'm not sure how much Live Run you guys play but believe me it is a general consensus that CPU's need to go. If they get rid of CPU's they will make 90% (If not 100%) of the Live Run players very happy.

I understand they put the CPU's in so people can play even if the lobby doesn't fill up in 30 seconds but this totally defeats the purpose of Live Run. We play Live run because we don't want CPU's. If we want CPU's we would play Pro Am.
Beavis_5000
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 3:26 am


Return to NBA Live 16

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests