How to add portraits without replacing any

Patchmaking tutorials for NBA 2K13.

How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby jmmontoro on Thu Oct 11, 2012 8:49 am

This should still be working in 2K13 but I haven't had a chance to test it yet. Let me know if this method is still working.

You'll need two things, either 3DM Mod Tool or NBA2KX Mod Tool (I can't be sure it's compatible with the portrait files of 2K13) to decompress the files and Total Installer Thingy 4 2K10 to rebuild the portrait files with the tool Portrait Builder Tool.
This doesn't explain how to create the portraits or how to save them as dds files, look for other tutorials on that.

Install the TiT tool and point it to the NBA 2K13 folder.
Open portrait.iff with the Mod Tool so it decompresses the files.
In your working folder create a folder named "portrait" and inside that folder create two folders named "1x" and "2x".
Place the dds files inside the 2x folder, the name of the dds files should be the target portrait id. So if X player has a portrait id of 2500, the dds file name has to be 2500.dds
Open the Portrait Builder Tool and select the folder where the portrait folder is sitting on.
The tool will create two files, delete the file named MVP, the other one is the important one.
Open the TiT tool and select the file the Portrait Builder Tool just created and wait for the process to finish.
Test and make sure everything worked properly.
jmmontoro
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 8:20 am

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby daninoz on Thu Oct 11, 2012 9:02 am

This work in 2K13. No need to create DDS files, you just need to create png files and run the portraid builder.
Image
User avatar
daninoz
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:32 am
Location: Tucuman, Argentina

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby rickiu on Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:06 pm

What is potrait builder? Where can I get this?? :oops:
User avatar
rickiu
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 1:20 pm
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby eda on Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:10 pm

It would be nice if you could reupload it somewhere, I mean the Tit thing.

solovoy, so the dds won't work?
User avatar
eda
Lives happily ever after.
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 5:17 am
Location: Lithuania,Vilnius

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby daninoz on Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:28 pm

The portrait builder is a tool along with the TiT 4 2K10. The link is there. The DDs files work, but it's more easy with only the PNG files. You edit the files, save it in PNG and no need to convert it.

If you want to convert DDS files to PNG files, you can use DDS Converter:

http://eliteforce2.filefront.com/file/DDS_Converter;29412
Image
User avatar
daninoz
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:32 am
Location: Tucuman, Argentina

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby eda on Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:16 am

I asked as I have all the files in DDS. Besides, when I try to download it, it says 'Sorry, you don't have permission for that!' DO i really have to register there? Can you upload that thing somewhere here?
User avatar
eda
Lives happily ever after.
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 5:17 am
Location: Lithuania,Vilnius

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby jmmontoro on Sun Oct 14, 2012 7:22 am

The link I provided is from the authors website, I don't plan to ask permission to reupload somewhere else, but google should provide you with plenty mirrors.
jmmontoro
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 8:20 am

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby eda on Mon Oct 15, 2012 4:53 am

Ok now I got that tit thing. And appears that I also need a portrait builder? Where can I get that one?
User avatar
eda
Lives happily ever after.
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 5:17 am
Location: Lithuania,Vilnius

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby daninoz on Mon Oct 15, 2012 4:54 am

eda wrote:Ok now I got that tit thing. And appears that I also need a portrait builder? Where can I get that one?


Is in the folder you installed TiT.
Image
User avatar
daninoz
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:32 am
Location: Tucuman, Argentina

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby eda on Mon Oct 15, 2012 5:10 am

:oops: Thanks, solovoy.
I can add portraits even if the players are not in game yet,right?
Let's say my portraits (dds files) are from 4000 to 4001, however there are no such players with these ids. Can I still import them into the portrait.iff?
As for now, I can't get it to work. At the end just a folder named 'portraits' is created with all the dds files extracted. What am I doing wrong?
User avatar
eda
Lives happily ever after.
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 5:17 am
Location: Lithuania,Vilnius

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby daninoz on Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:15 am

eda wrote::oops: Thanks, solovoy.
I can add portraits even if the players are not in game yet,right?
Let's say my portraits (dds files) are from 4000 to 4001, however there are no such players with these ids. Can I still import them into the portrait.iff?
As for now, I can't get it to work. At the end just a folder named 'portraits' is created with all the dds files extracted. What am I doing wrong?


Yes. You can add portraits with IDs unexistent in the game, just be carefull to not overwrite other id.

I'm gonna make a tutorial video in a couple of hours.

EDIT: Here is the video tutorial:

phpBB [video]
Image
User avatar
daninoz
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:32 am
Location: Tucuman, Argentina

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby jmmontoro on Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:59 am

Nice video, I hope this makes things clearer.
jmmontoro
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 8:20 am

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby eda on Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:34 am

Yeah, this all is pretty easy, but it doesn't work for me. I still see the same amount of portraits in the new portrait.iff file. Is it my x64 machine doesn't allow me to do this?
User avatar
eda
Lives happily ever after.
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 5:17 am
Location: Lithuania,Vilnius

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby daninoz on Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:17 am

eda wrote:Yeah, this all is pretty easy, but it doesn't work for me. I still see the same amount of portraits in the new portrait.iff file. Is it my x64 machine doesn't allow me to do this?


I also have a x64 machine.

The only thing I can think right now is the format of the id. Just check that all the png files have the name with four digits. For example, if you want to change Allen Iverson portrait, you must create a 0005.png file and not just 5.png
Image
User avatar
daninoz
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:32 am
Location: Tucuman, Argentina

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby eda on Tue Oct 16, 2012 2:02 am

I've tried to test it with ione file - 4000.dds and it didn't work.
I converted the file to PNG and it did not work either.
User avatar
eda
Lives happily ever after.
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 5:17 am
Location: Lithuania,Vilnius

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby jmmontoro on Tue Oct 16, 2012 9:03 am

Write down step by step what you're doing and post it, maybe we'll find out why you're not being able to make it work.
jmmontoro
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 8:20 am

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby eda on Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:52 pm

Well, after I run the 'TiT_4_MLB_2k10' for the first time, I select the directory where my portrait.iff/cdf files are. And it is desktop.
Then I create a folder 'portrait' with folders '1x' '2x' and put my 4000.dds file (256x256) into the folder named 2x.
Then i run the 'portrait-builder' and a folder 'MVP' and files 'MVP.7z' and 'mlb2k10.7z' are created.
After that I run the TiT and choose the 'mlb2k10.7z' file and press START.

WHat i get is 'portrait.cdf.bak' and the 'portrait.iff.bak' and a folder named 'portraits' than contains all the portraits form the portrait.iff files in dds format.
When I check the new portrait.iff file, I can't see the new portrait imported and the number of portraits did not change. I believe it has to show one portrait more but it doesn't.
User avatar
eda
Lives happily ever after.
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 5:17 am
Location: Lithuania,Vilnius

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby daninoz on Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:39 pm

eda wrote:Well, after I run the 'TiT_4_MLB_2k10' for the first time, I select the directory where my portrait.iff/cdf files are. And it is desktop.
Then I create a folder 'portrait' with folders '1x' '2x' and put my 4000.dds file (256x256) into the folder named 2x.
Then i run the 'portrait-builder' and a folder 'MVP' and files 'MVP.7z' and 'mlb2k10.7z' are created.
After that I run the TiT and choose the 'mlb2k10.7z' file and press START.

WHat i get is 'portrait.cdf.bak' and the 'portrait.iff.bak' and a folder named 'portraits' than contains all the portraits form the portrait.iff files in dds format.
When I check the new portrait.iff file, I can't see the new portrait imported and the number of portraits did not change. I believe it has to show one portrait more but it doesn't.


Don't put the dds files in a 2x folder, just put them in any folder and select that folder in the portrait-editor.

If the result is the same, try to do the same, but with png files. Put the png file in a folder, and then in the portrait-creator select that folder.

And check that the id you are using is not already in the game. The portrait folder that Tit created, contains all the portraits in dds files, select and id that isn't in that folder.
Image
User avatar
daninoz
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:32 am
Location: Tucuman, Argentina

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby jmmontoro on Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:05 am

If you have the folder with all the dds that means the process isn't finished, the tool extracts all the portraits into that folder, then inserts and replaces the new ones you created and recompiles the iff file. Somehow the process is interrupted and the file is not regenerated. Try using another folder instead of the desktop or make sure you have proper permissions.
jmmontoro
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 8:20 am

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby eda on Thu Oct 18, 2012 12:38 am

Sorry guys, I am grateful for you assistance and patience, but it just won't work, I've tried everything, running as admin, changing directories, TiT keeps making the folder and nothing happens. I think I'll just give up on that.
User avatar
eda
Lives happily ever after.
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 5:17 am
Location: Lithuania,Vilnius

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby daninoz on Thu Oct 18, 2012 12:41 am

eda wrote:Sorry guys, I am grateful for you assistance and patience, but it just won't work, I've tried everything, running as admin, changing directories, TiT keeps making the folder and nothing happens. I think I'll just give up on that.


In my case, that folder is always created. But the patch is applied. Try replacing an actual Portrait. Create a png file with the id 0005 and try. If the portrait of Allen Iverson change, then the tool worked.
Image
User avatar
daninoz
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:32 am
Location: Tucuman, Argentina

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby jmmontoro on Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:00 am

The folder is part of the process that I think you're interrupting. Run it again with the task manager open and follow the processes to make sure when they stop.
jmmontoro
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 8:20 am

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby Laker06 on Thu Oct 18, 2012 12:39 pm

daninoz wrote:
eda wrote:Sorry guys, I am grateful for you assistance and patience, but it just won't work, I've tried everything, running as admin, changing directories, TiT keeps making the folder and nothing happens. I think I'll just give up on that.


In my case, that folder is always created. But the patch is applied. Try replacing an actual Portrait. Create a png file with the id 0005 and try. If the portrait of Allen Iverson change, then the tool worked.


My portrait is not also showing.. I was able to replace Allen Iverson's portrait though by replacing 0005 with a dds portait file found in portrait.iff, but when i put my own image it does not appear. Specifically this image, I'll upload it so you guys can see and try http://www.mediafire.com/?r6q802lhg4my4l8

Is there a certain file compression or image size to maintain in order for them to work?
[img]http://solecollector.com/media/sneakers/images/nike-basketball-presents-count-on-kobe-header.jpg[/img ]
User avatar
Laker06
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:15 pm

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby jmmontoro on Fri Oct 19, 2012 3:02 am

Who's portrait ID is 3143?
jmmontoro
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 8:20 am

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby tyverch on Sun Oct 28, 2012 9:34 am

i still dont get this...thanks for nothing
tyverch
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 1:35 pm

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby jmmontoro on Sun Oct 28, 2012 1:35 pm

You still? You never posted here before. If you're incapable of following a simple procedure is not my problem. Thank you for stopping by!
jmmontoro
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 8:20 am

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby Andrew on Sun Oct 28, 2012 2:10 pm

tyverch wrote:i still dont get this...thanks for nothing


Not cool. We don't need that kind of attitude in our community. Cut it out.
NLSC Webmaster/Administrator
Image
Contact: Email | Twitter
Release Threads: NBA Live 08 | NBA Live 07 | NBA Live 06 | NBA Live 2005 | NBA Live 2004
Story Threads: NBA 2K13 | NBA Live 06 (Part 2) | NBA Live 06 (HOF) | NBA Live 2004 (HOF)
NLSC: Podcast | The Friday Five | Monday Tip-Off | Wayback Wednesday | 20th Anniversary of NBA Live | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube


Support The NLSC Hosting Fund: Patreon | GoFundMe

Image
Like my work? Want to help out with the NLSC Hosting Fund? Please consider leaving a tip!
User avatar
Andrew
45? That's a bad luck number!
Administrator
 
Posts: 104846
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Australia

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby tyverch on Sun Oct 28, 2012 4:32 pm

i apologize, its my fault, see i didnt know i couldnt say what i felt, i didnt know this site was totalitarian, SORRY
tyverch
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 1:35 pm

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby Andrew on Sun Oct 28, 2012 8:34 pm

Yeah, we don't need that kind of bratty attitude. Out you go.
NLSC Webmaster/Administrator
Image
Contact: Email | Twitter
Release Threads: NBA Live 08 | NBA Live 07 | NBA Live 06 | NBA Live 2005 | NBA Live 2004
Story Threads: NBA 2K13 | NBA Live 06 (Part 2) | NBA Live 06 (HOF) | NBA Live 2004 (HOF)
NLSC: Podcast | The Friday Five | Monday Tip-Off | Wayback Wednesday | 20th Anniversary of NBA Live | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube


Support The NLSC Hosting Fund: Patreon | GoFundMe

Image
Like my work? Want to help out with the NLSC Hosting Fund? Please consider leaving a tip!
User avatar
Andrew
45? That's a bad luck number!
Administrator
 
Posts: 104846
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Australia

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby skoadam on Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:34 pm

Is there any tutorial how to create portraits? from basic things to put this things together.
ImageImage

URB WHERE SIM HAPPENS [35 Complete Seasons Mods] DOWNLOAD HERE

2018/2019 2017/2018 2016/2017 2015/2016 2014/2015
2013/2014 2012/2013 2011/2012 2010/2011 2009/2010
2008/2009 2007/2008 2006/2007 2005/2006 2004/2005
2003/2004 2002/2003 2001/2002 2000/2001 1999/2000
1998/1999 1997/1998 1996/1997 1995/1996 1994/1995
1993/1994 1992/1993 1991/1992 1990/1991 1989/1990
1988/1989 1987/1988 1986/1987 1985/1986 1984/1985

ImageLike it? Motivate me for more
User avatar
skoadam
U R Basketball - Where Sim Happens
Contributor
 
Posts: 7427
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 12:52 am
Location: PL

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby jellyno1 on Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:27 am

What's the different between 1x and 2x ?
Thanks!
User avatar
jellyno1
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 2:06 pm

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby daninoz on Tue Jan 01, 2013 12:08 am

Yesterday I realize something. The PNG file, must be 512x512. A 256x256 image don't work in 2K13. It must be 512x512.
Image
User avatar
daninoz
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:32 am
Location: Tucuman, Argentina

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby Teodosic11 on Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:30 pm

Is this the same for created players???
KK Crvena Zvezda Telekom...
User avatar
Teodosic11
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 6:36 pm

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby Benuydere on Sat Feb 09, 2013 4:42 pm

My antivirus (Kingsoft) said that 'Total Installer Thingy 4 2K10' is a trojan. I was planning to attach daninoz's classic players portraits to Larvae's portrait pack.
User avatar
Benuydere
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 8:23 am

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby jmmontoro on Mon Feb 11, 2013 10:14 am

@neccasalmor: It's a false positive, it detects a generic trojan because the tool is trying to modify files without proper permits. If you downloaded it from a secure place then it's safe to exclude the files from the AV.
@Teodosic11: As long as you edit the roster to match the portrait ID it should work.
@daninoz: 256x256 or 1x are low resolution portraits, since this year we don't have low and hi portraits but only one file it's a good find that only 2x portrait files work, by the way congrats on your releases!
@jellyno1: 1x are 256x256 pixels portraits and 2x are 512x512 portraits.
@skoadam: A transparent PNG or DDS file with a cutout picture that must be 512x512 pixels.

Sorry for the big delay in the responses!
jmmontoro
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 8:20 am

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby el_valero on Tue Feb 26, 2013 5:22 am

When I add a portrait... What is its place in the list? I have added 2 portraits and I dont know why they are putted in this place...

Thanks
el_valero
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:15 am
Location: Huesca - Aragon - España

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby jmmontoro on Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:31 am

Write in spanish if you want, I understand it. Also write it in english as best as you can in case the moderators don't allow non english messages.
Escribe en español si quieres, yo lo entiendo. También escribe en ingles lo mejor que puedas en caso que los moderadores no permitan mensajes que no estén en ingles.
jmmontoro
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 8:20 am

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby el_valero on Tue Feb 26, 2013 5:04 pm

De acuerdo. Preguntaba que orden tienen o cogen los portraits al añadirlos, porque cuando los abro con el mod tool cada uno se coloca en posiciones distintas. Por ejemplo, he añadido dos y cuando abro el portraits.iff con el mod tool, uno se coloca en la posición 1024 y el otro en la 700 y pico. Hay alguna razón para ello??

I Wonder if I open the portraits.iff with mod tool, each portraits is in diferent place and i dont know why they put in this order. For example, I have added 2 portraits, one of this is put in 1024 in the mod tool list when I open iff file and the other is put in 700 more or less. Is there any reason??
el_valero
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:15 am
Location: Huesca - Aragon - España

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby jmmontoro on Wed Feb 27, 2013 12:59 am

El orden en el mod tool no lo conozco, este método asegura que puedas insertar un portrait con la id que desees, evitando reemplazar otro portrait como con el mod tool. No son herramientas complementarias, si no que la idea detrás de este método es reemplazar al mod tool para editar portraits ya que los tienes todos en una carpeta con el id del mismo como nombre de archivo y los puedes ver haciendo doble click.

I don't know about the order in the mod tool, this method ensures that you can instert a potrait with any id you want, without replacing another portrait like with the mod tool. This are not complementary tools, the idea behind this method is to replace the mod tool for portrait editing since you have a folder with all the portraits named with the id and you can view them just by double-clicking.
jmmontoro
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 8:20 am

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby el_valero on Wed Feb 27, 2013 7:23 am

Thanks you
el_valero
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:15 am
Location: Huesca - Aragon - España

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby Yugi123 on Tue Jul 23, 2013 11:15 am

edit: NVM figured out that issue but now I have another one, the imported portraits work great but for some reason every other player doesnt have portrait now, I am guessing this might be an issue with the portrait file because for some reason the porgram deleted all the other files in the portrait IFF file and only put the one I created in there. is there a way to fix this?
Yugi123
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 8:13 am

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby nba2kmod11111 on Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:34 pm

I followed the instructions already. Used portrait builder Tit_4_MLB_2k10. The portraits I want to add were added and replaced portrait.iff in NBA 2k13 folder. However, I can't find the created players portrait it in Mod Tool. How can I find created players in the Mod Tool to apply the newly created portraits?

I created players and want to apply the added portraits to these players. How do I find the created players portrait in Mod Tool so I can add the DDS portraits created.

I used Roster Editor to validate if the Portrait IDs of these created players are the same with the newly created portraits. They are the same but still no portrait for the created players when playing the game. See the screenshots for more details.

Image


Roster Editor with Portrait IDs based from added new portraits. See blue highlighted cells.

Image



Thanks.
User avatar
nba2kmod11111
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 6:37 pm

Re: How to add portraits without replacing any

Postby nba2kmod11111 on Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:45 pm

How can I find created players portrait in Mod Tool? Thanks
User avatar
nba2kmod11111
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 6:37 pm


Return to NBA 2K13 Tutorials & FAQs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests







cron