Main Site | Forum | Rules | Downloads | Wiki | Features | Podcast

NLSC Forum

Switch to full style
Discussion about NBA Live 2003.
Post a reply

IMPORTANT

Tue Jun 24, 2003 7:34 pm

hi everbody

Is it true that referee does not call offensive faul even if the defending player is in that take charge position (since defender is nearly under the rim and exactly in the painted area) ?...thanx
Last edited by eccopacco on Wed Jun 25, 2003 12:54 am, edited 2 times in total.

Tue Jun 24, 2003 7:39 pm

You should be able to draw the charge there if you time it correctly.

Tue Jun 24, 2003 7:47 pm

hi again..The answer to my question is not the one you have given andrew..the thing is that i found this tip in the game while playing..if the defender is nearly under rim u can back down and u never get offensive foul providing that defender should be so close to rim and in the painted area..maybe I am wrong ..please leave here your post if this works for most of you or not..thanx

Tue Jun 24, 2003 8:00 pm

I'm aware of that. There's a no charge area where offensive fouls will not be called. It shouldn't extend out as far as the players are in that screenshot - it should be limited to the semi-circle under the basket.

It's an actual NBA rule, so it should be that way.

Tue Jun 24, 2003 8:04 pm

exactly andrew..i actually did not know it applies to the nbalive2003 as well...cool ...thanx

Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:49 am

Andrew wrote:I'm aware of that. There's a no charge area where offensive fouls will not be called. It shouldn't extend out as far as the players are in that screenshot - it should be limited to the semi-circle under the basket.

It's an actual NBA rule, so it should be that way.


I think the rule only applies to helping defenders (I might be wrong). The problem with EA, is really the only way to play post defense is to draw a charge.

Mon Jun 30, 2003 1:32 pm

No, the rule I'm talking about is the no charge area. If a defender is too far under the basket, they cannot draw an offensive foul.

Tue Jul 01, 2003 9:12 am

Andrew wrote:No, the rule I'm talking about is the no charge area. If a defender is too far under the basket, they cannot draw an offensive foul.
Inside the semi-circle to be exact.

Tue Jul 01, 2003 12:27 pm

Correct. For the sake of trivia: before the 1997/98 season there was no semi-circle under the basket, so it was basically up to the referee's judgment. :)
Post a reply