How to get NBA Live 2000 working on a Vista 32-bit/64-bit OS

Talk about NBA Live 95-2002 here.

How to get NBA Live 2000 working on a Vista 32-bit/64-bit OS

Postby SpriteAlpha on Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:07 am

Hello,

I have managed to get NBA Live 2000 to work flawlessly on my Vista 64-bit operating system. Unfortunately, it's not a great or quick method, but it's the best I could come up with. I will explain the process below. If you have a 32-bit OS, skip to Step 4; if you have a 64-bit OS, start from Step 1.

Step 1: You will need to install NBA Live 2000 on a 32-bit OS. If you don't have access to a second computer, you could install a 32-bit OS on a Virtual Machine. After installing, you will need to to copy the folder C:\Program Files\EA Sports\NBA Live 2000 from your 32-bit OS to your 64-bit one, but to C:\Program Files (x86)\Ea Sports\Nba Live 2000. Or if you don't have any means of data transfer, can go through the very tedious process of noting down the files installed on the 32-bit OS, then copying them from the CD to the 64-bit OS.

Step 2. You will need to input the relevant information to the Registry. If you give me your e-mail address (either by pm or by replying to this post), I will send you all of the registry files. However, if you want to do this yourself, you will need to go to the registry on your 32-bit OS, and search for "NBA Live 2000", then export all relevant keys. However, when importing them to the 64-bit OS, you will need to edit relevant keys so they go to the Wow6432Node key (as this contains all the information for 32-bit software). And once they're copied, if the strings include the location of the NBA Live 2000 folder, you'll need to change the location to "Program Files (x86)" from "Program Files".

Step 3: You can copy the start menu shortscuts from your 32-bit OS to your 64-bit one, as well as any other shortcuts, or you can create the shortcuts yourself. By now, your NBA Live 2000 will be on your system just as it is after a fresh install on a 32-bit OS.

Step 4 (This is now for people on either a 32-bit OS or a 64-bit OS): NBA Live 2000 doesn't seem to load on Vista. This is due to the graphics settings for the game. To fix this, you'll need to go to\EA Sports\NBA Live 2000\3rash and replace the file dx6z.dll with a dx7z.dll file - this is a file you can get here: http://www.pcrepaircentral.com/dll/dx7z.zip After putting the dx7z.dll file in the folder, you'll need to rename it to dx6z.dll (after backing up your original dx6z.dll file).

Step 5: The game should now load, and run okay. But some things may not work correcttly. For example, when a game is loading, the team logos will be all fuzzy. There may also be other errors within the game. This is all because NBA Live 2000 does not like multi-core processors. Therefore, you need to make sure only one of your processor cores is being used by the game. To permanently make this happen, you will need the file imagecfg.exe which can be gotten here: http://www.robpol86.com/files/imagecfg.exe Now, put this in your C:\Windows\System32 folder (this is the same for 32-bit and 64-bit OS users). Now open notepad and paste the following:

imagecfg -u nbawin.exe
imagecfg -u nbawin.icd
imagecfg -a 0x1 nbawin.exe
imagecfg -a 0x1 nbawin.icd
pause

Then save that file as "processor.bat" - including the speech marks. Next copy and paste the files nbawin.exe and nbawin.icd (from the NBA Live 2000 folder. And back up the originals - e.g. just rename them) into the same folder as the processor.bat file - but not in a folder in Program Files, as files there are 'read only'; put them together somewhere like the desktop. Next open the processor.bat file. If successful, it should contain lines such as "Image can only run in uni-processor mode on multi-processor systems" and "Process Affinity Mask: 00000001". Afterwards, move the nbawin.exe and nba.icd files into the NBA Live 2000 folder.

And voila. If all the above steps have been followed correctly, NBA Live 2000 should work flawlessly.

If you have any questions, please post a reply or pm me.

Happy gaming!
SpriteAlpha
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:46 am

Re: How to get NBA Live 2000 working on a Vista 32-bit/64-bi

Postby terrymorgan on Sun Sep 02, 2012 12:41 am

quote
'However, when importing them to the 64-bit OS, you will need to edit relevant keys so they go to the Wow6432Node key (as this contains all the information for 32-bit software).'
unquote

I have an install from it working on a 32 bit vista machine, now I want to run it on my windows 7 64 bit machine. I've found that wow6432node and made a key called nba_2000
here's the .reg I copied from the vista machine

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\EA SPORTS\NBA Live 2000]
"DisplayName"="NBA Live 2000"
"Language"="English"
"CD Drive"="E:\\"
"Install Dir"="c:\\games\\nba_2000"
"3D Device Description"="NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS "
"3D Card"="NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS "
"Thrash Driver"="dx6"
"Group"="D3D"
"D3D Device"=dword:00000000
"Triple Buffer"=dword:00000000
"Hardware Acceleration"=dword:00000001
"Thrash Resolution"="640x480"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\EA SPORTS\NBA Live 2000\1.0]
"DisplayName"="NBA Live 2000"
"Language"=dword:00000001


Do I just make new keys in this part of the registry? I've already 'added' the keys but they're not showing up in the right
place.
terrymorgan
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 12:24 am

Re: How to get NBA Live 2000 working on a Vista 32-bit/64-bi

Postby Murat on Sun Sep 02, 2012 4:19 am

Well, Live 2000 worked at me without any edit
Image
this year, again...
User avatar
Murat
I wanted you so bad, dear custom title
Contributor
 
Posts: 5810
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 6:07 am
Location: Middle East

Re: How to get NBA Live 2000 working on a Vista 32-bit/64-bi

Postby terrymorgan on Sun Sep 02, 2012 11:16 pm

So I typed in all that stuff, got the dx7z.zip thing and did that, but instead of imagecfg.exe I got flipTib

http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=127533

With fliptib there's a right-click choice for 'run with 1 core'. And the game works!
terrymorgan
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 12:24 am

Re: How to get NBA Live 2000 working on a Vista 32-bit/64-bi

Postby Llama_Cookie on Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:20 am

Thanks man! Only had to do the processor.bat part because of fuzzy graphics in the game loading menu. Works perfectly on Windows 7 32-Bit!
Llama_Cookie
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:55 am

Re: How to get NBA Live 2000 working on a Vista 32-bit/64-bi

Postby Plokite_Wolf on Tue Jul 23, 2013 6:51 pm

I am very sorry for the bump, but I've attempted to use this method on WinXP to get rid of the annoying fuzzy loading screens. The only case I can get that to work 100% is when I run the game in compat. mode for Win98, but then the game is slower and of significantly lower video quality.

I am willing to attempt the FlipTIB alternative, but I'm unable to find the file. The link on TTLG Forums is dead.
User avatar
Plokite_Wolf
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 6:38 pm
Location: Split, Croatia

Re: How to get NBA Live 2000 working on a Vista 32-bit/64-bi

Postby Andrew on Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:13 pm

Additional tips here:
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=82084
NLSC Webmaster/Administrator
Image
Contact: Email | Twitter
Release Threads: NBA Live 08 | NBA Live 07 | NBA Live 06 | NBA Live 2005 | NBA Live 2004
Story Threads: NBA 2K13 | NBA Live 06 (Part 2) | NBA Live 06 (HOF) | NBA Live 2004 (HOF)
NLSC: Podcast | The Friday Five | Monday Tip-Off | Wayback Wednesday | 20th Anniversary of NBA Live | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube


Support The NLSC Hosting Fund: Patreon | GoFundMe

Image
Like my work? Want to help out with the NLSC Hosting Fund? Please consider leaving a tip!
User avatar
Andrew
That's a bad luck number.
Administrator
 
Posts: 101785
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Australia

Re: How to get NBA Live 2000 working on a Vista 32-bit/64-bi

Postby Plokite_Wolf on Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:25 pm

Thank you for the quick reply, but, unfortunately, it didn't help.

My situation is like this: I've been lurking this site for a while now (very nice place, BTW), and I have done that NBA Live 2001 DX7 DLL maneuver long ago, so I have the game running smoothly at 1680x1050 at max graphics. But, being the perfectionist that I am, I'm looking for solutions on how to have the loading screens display properly (right now, I can only have that in the first match I choose, the others are not so good) and, if possible, have all strings appear correctly instead of in random symbols.

With this processor limiting attempt, I had no luck. I've created the batch file and the command prompt says that both the EXE and the ICD have been edited as stated in the first post, but I see little change ingame.
User avatar
Plokite_Wolf
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 6:38 pm
Location: Split, Croatia

Re: How to get NBA Live 2000 working on a Vista 32-bit/64-bi

Postby Andrew on Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:33 pm

Ah, I see. Yeah, I'm not sure if there's any solution for the loading screens, unless you can run Windows 98 under VMWare perhaps.
NLSC Webmaster/Administrator
Image
Contact: Email | Twitter
Release Threads: NBA Live 08 | NBA Live 07 | NBA Live 06 | NBA Live 2005 | NBA Live 2004
Story Threads: NBA 2K13 | NBA Live 06 (Part 2) | NBA Live 06 (HOF) | NBA Live 2004 (HOF)
NLSC: Podcast | The Friday Five | Monday Tip-Off | Wayback Wednesday | 20th Anniversary of NBA Live | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube


Support The NLSC Hosting Fund: Patreon | GoFundMe

Image
Like my work? Want to help out with the NLSC Hosting Fund? Please consider leaving a tip!
User avatar
Andrew
That's a bad luck number.
Administrator
 
Posts: 101785
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Australia


Return to NBA Live Vintage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests