help me please

Talk about NBA 2K13 here.

help me please

Postby stormseeker on Tue Oct 30, 2012 3:33 pm

hi. i just purchased the game and i install it on my pc. after i install i cant read anything? is this normal? i have 2k11 and 2k12 but it worked. i have met system requirements but i found a bug

Image
stormseeker
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 3:24 pm

Re: help me please

Postby disci922 on Tue Oct 30, 2012 11:53 pm

Did you try uninstalling and reinstalling it?
disci922
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 10:52 am

Re: help me please

Postby stormseeker on Wed Oct 31, 2012 10:09 am

i did it too many times
stormseeker
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 3:24 pm

Re: help me please

Postby Andrew on Wed Oct 31, 2012 10:40 am

That's a new one. Have you contacted 2K Support about it yet?
Release Threads: NBA Live 08 | NBA Live 07 | NBA Live 06 | NBA Live 2005
Story Threads: NBA 2K13 | NBA Live 06 (Part 2) | NBA Live 06 (HOF) | NBA Live 2004 (HOF)
NLSC: Podcast | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube Channel


Image
Thanks to TheDee for the signature!
User avatar
Andrew
Old School Rose
Administrator
 
Posts: 87129
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Australia

Re: help me please

Postby jmmontoro on Wed Oct 31, 2012 11:42 am

I suggest you go back to the basics, meaning latest video card drivers, latest directx, latest dotnet and latest vc.
jmmontoro
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 8:20 am

Re: help me please

Postby stormseeker on Wed Oct 31, 2012 1:30 pm

Andrew wrote:That's a new one. Have you contacted 2K Support about it yet?


not yet

i have updated my video card and graphics card yesterday but still dont work :(
stormseeker
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 3:24 pm

Re: help me please

Postby stormseeker on Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:41 pm

anyone there?
stormseeker
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 3:24 pm

Re: help me please

Postby Andrew on Tue Nov 06, 2012 12:29 am

Now would be the time to contact 2K Support.
Release Threads: NBA Live 08 | NBA Live 07 | NBA Live 06 | NBA Live 2005
Story Threads: NBA 2K13 | NBA Live 06 (Part 2) | NBA Live 06 (HOF) | NBA Live 2004 (HOF)
NLSC: Podcast | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube Channel


Image
Thanks to TheDee for the signature!
User avatar
Andrew
Old School Rose
Administrator
 
Posts: 87129
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Australia

Re: help me please

Postby stormseeker on Sun Nov 18, 2012 10:21 am

Nobody is helping me out there e.e
stormseeker
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 3:24 pm

Re: help me please

Postby Andrew on Sun Nov 18, 2012 1:22 pm

Sorry to hear that, but that's pretty much your only option.
Release Threads: NBA Live 08 | NBA Live 07 | NBA Live 06 | NBA Live 2005
Story Threads: NBA 2K13 | NBA Live 06 (Part 2) | NBA Live 06 (HOF) | NBA Live 2004 (HOF)
NLSC: Podcast | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube Channel


Image
Thanks to TheDee for the signature!
User avatar
Andrew
Old School Rose
Administrator
 
Posts: 87129
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Australia

Re: help me please

Postby DondiWhite on Sun Nov 18, 2012 10:06 pm

That looks like some kind of font overlay problem.

First of all what language have you selected to use in the game, are you english or do you use different in game language? Maybe set it to foreign language and see if that shows up, would then show if English is corrupted font? What language do you have it set too if its not English I could test here to see if its a foreign language font bug or something.

I'm unsure what you can do to test it, but I cant say its the game or graphics card. Have you tried lower (lowest) resolutions in game all settings set to low with low res screen setting to see if certain ones show the text? What graphics card do you have, operating system & driver version? In your graphics driver settings make sure you switch off any enhancements or AA overlay and transparency overlay features, just in case its causing fonts to show transparent.

Have you tried installing to a different hard drive just in case its a file corruption on install on a sector of hard disk (maybe)? Is it digital download/steam (if so check on steams support help).

Just for the hell of it make sure windows is fully updated also incl net framework and fonts.

2k may help if its proven to be that your install is permanently corrupt on the files that show menu text which seems a little strange and very rare?

BTW 2k Support is here: http://support.2k.com/home <<< login and start a ticket, or use game manual and call them with number supplied on it.
Image
User avatar
DondiWhite
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:37 am

Re: help me please

Postby stormseeker on Mon Nov 19, 2012 8:52 pm

DondiWhite wrote:
First of all what language have you selected to use in the game, are you english or do you use different in game language? Maybe set it to foreign language and see if that shows up, would then show if English is corrupted font? What language do you have it set too if its not English I could test here to see if its a foreign language font bug or something.

i use english font

DondiWhite wrote:

I'm unsure what you can do to test it, but I cant say its the game or graphics card. Have you tried lower (lowest) resolutions in game all settings set to low with low res screen setting to see if certain ones show the text? What graphics card do you have, operating system & driver version?


Yes, I have the latest version of DirectX and .NET Framework. I cannot change the resolution because i cannot see any texts there.


DondiWhite wrote: In your graphics driver settings make sure you switch off any enhancements or AA overlay and transparency overlay features, just in case its causing fonts to show transparent.


how can i do this in my settings? i have ati control center
stormseeker
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 3:24 pm

Re: help me please

Postby DondiWhite on Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:18 pm

how can i do this in my settings? i have ati control center


I dont use ATI, I use nvidia so maybe its some kind of ATI bug?

All I can say is google ATI control center help and use help and check threads using ATI drivers to search any known issues, things like turning off AA settings and so and just to see what happens.

I cannot change the resolution because i cannot see any texts there.


Good point! :cool: :D Do it manually then, the game simply edits a file "config.cfg" search it under your %appdata% in run menu and find 2K Sports/nba2k13/saves folder where its all stored.

In (quote below) bold is your res settings for height/width try 800x600, also there are other where Ive places "set to 0" this will lower all quality just to see) but, make sure you right click it afterwards and make it read only so game cant try to set it again (just for this test normally it shouldn't be read only).

Make a backup copy to paste back after test, or delete it so the game can make an new one (might be worth doing that after if still problem to see if game rights itself)

NOTE: my numbers may differ from yours so ignore that just check out the res settings.

VIDEOSETTING_ADAPTERINDEX = 0
VIDEOSETTING_WIDTH = 1440 <<<<<<<<<<<
VIDEOSETTING_HEIGHT = 900 <<<<<<<<<<<<

VIDEOSETTING_COLORDEPTH = 32
VIDEOSETTING_VSYNC = 1
VIDEOSETTING_REFRESHRATE = 60
VIDEOSETTING_WINDOWMODE = 0 (set to 1 to try windowed and see what happens)
VIDEOSETTING_MSAA = 8 (set to 0)
VIDEOSETTING_MSAAQUALITY = 2 (set to 0)
VIDEOSETTING_MAXTEXTURESIZE = 4096
VIDEOSETTING_DEPTHOFFIELD = 1
VIDEOSETTING_FLOORREFLECTION = 1
VIDEOSETTING_PLAYERLOD = 1
VIDEOSETTING_STADIUMLOD = 1
VIDEOSETTING_CROWDDETAIL = 2
VIDEOSETTING_SHADERDETAIL = 1
VIDEOSETTING_SIDELINECHARACTER = 0
VIDEOSETTING_ANISOTROPICQUALITY = 2 (set to 0)
VIDEOSETTING_PARTICLEFFECT = 0
VIDEOSETTING_AVERAGE_FRAMERATE = 60
VIDEOSETTING_FORCE_HDR_ON_INTEL_GPU = 0
MAIN_LOGICAL_THREAD = 1
GPU_LOGICAL_THREAD = 0
STALL_CPU_ON_END_FRAME = 0
LIMIT_FLIP_QUEUE_LENGTH = 2
LIMIT_FLIP_QUEUE_LENGTH_SLEEP = 0
STICKYKEY = 2
TOGGLEKEY = 34
FILTERKEY = 2
ACCESSIBILITYKEY_SAVED = 0
LANGUAGE = -482460772
WINDOW_X = 0
WINDOW_Y = 0
STARTUP_ACCOUNT_REGISTRATION = 1
PERFORMANCE_BENCHMARK = 1
ADJUST_VIDEO_SETTINGS = 1
ADJUST_LANGUAGE = 1
CLOTH_LOGICAL_THREAD_0 = 4
CLOTH_LOGICAL_THREAD_1 = 4
CLOTH_LOGICAL_THREAD_2 = 4
CLOTH_LOGICAL_THREAD_3 = 4


If non of that changes things, the only other thing is under %appdata% 2K Sports/nba2k13/ back this 2ksports folder up (make a copy some place else, then delete it). This will force game to re add this, re download anything & also start a resh profile, just in case theres any corruption in that area. Reinstalling may not remove this and if there is you will see the same thing, this is another guess but you can try BACKUP DATA FIRST!

Sorry to say that your problem seems very rare, not much anyone can suggest apart from guesswork, NBA2k helpline/ticket maybe the only place if it persists, or getting a replacement disk if its physical. Or reinstalling to a different disk/location if data corruption.
Image
User avatar
DondiWhite
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:37 am

Re: help me please

Postby stormseeker on Wed Nov 21, 2012 8:10 pm

Awww. I tried everything out there but still didn't worked. :roll:
stormseeker
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 3:24 pm

Re: help me please

Postby stormseeker on Thu Nov 29, 2012 6:58 pm

I reinstalled 10 times but... nothing happened
stormseeker
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 3:24 pm

Re: help me please

Postby Andrew on Thu Nov 29, 2012 9:09 pm

I don't think anyone here has any other suggestions. This is something to contact 2K Support about; if they don't reply, keep emailing them.
Release Threads: NBA Live 08 | NBA Live 07 | NBA Live 06 | NBA Live 2005
Story Threads: NBA 2K13 | NBA Live 06 (Part 2) | NBA Live 06 (HOF) | NBA Live 2004 (HOF)
NLSC: Podcast | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube Channel


Image
Thanks to TheDee for the signature!
User avatar
Andrew
Old School Rose
Administrator
 
Posts: 87129
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Australia

Re: help me please

Postby DondiWhite on Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:34 am

BTW 2k Support is here: http://support.2k.com/home <<< login and start a ticket, or use game manual and call them with number supplied on it.


No one will be able to help much further to be honest.
Image
User avatar
DondiWhite
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:37 am

Re: help me please

Postby kdrose23 on Tue Dec 04, 2012 8:47 pm

I have the same problem sir :(
Image
User avatar
kdrose23
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:33 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: help me please

Postby Andrew on Tue Dec 04, 2012 9:43 pm

Well, as you can see we're pretty much out of suggestions. 2K Support is the next port of call.
Release Threads: NBA Live 08 | NBA Live 07 | NBA Live 06 | NBA Live 2005
Story Threads: NBA 2K13 | NBA Live 06 (Part 2) | NBA Live 06 (HOF) | NBA Live 2004 (HOF)
NLSC: Podcast | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube Channel


Image
Thanks to TheDee for the signature!
User avatar
Andrew
Old School Rose
Administrator
 
Posts: 87129
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Australia

Re: help me please

Postby Darkh on Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:58 am

Check if you have "performance textures" in your graphic card settings checked, it may be because of that. If so set it on standart or quality.

Or maximum texture size in config.cfg of 2k13, set it to 256 its the lowest possible value i think VIDEOSETTING_MAXTEXTURESIZE = 256
Darkh
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:19 pm

Re: help me please

Postby Heiki84 on Wed Dec 05, 2012 6:08 am

Maybe try play this game on some other computer, if it dont work there maybe disc is corrupt? Or you might try find nba2k13 demo (if there is one) and try play demo version to see if that works.
Heiki84
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:47 am

Re: help me please

Postby Andrew on Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:35 am

There's no PC demo for NBA 2K13.

It wouldn't be the disc. If there was a problem with the disc itself, the drive wouldn't read it. If there was a run of discs released that had a version of the game with this error then returning it for another copy would be a viable solution, however if that were the case it would be a far more widespread problem, making it highly unlikely.
Release Threads: NBA Live 08 | NBA Live 07 | NBA Live 06 | NBA Live 2005
Story Threads: NBA 2K13 | NBA Live 06 (Part 2) | NBA Live 06 (HOF) | NBA Live 2004 (HOF)
NLSC: Podcast | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube Channel


Image
Thanks to TheDee for the signature!
User avatar
Andrew
Old School Rose
Administrator
 
Posts: 87129
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Australia

Re: help me please

Postby kdrose23 on Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:18 pm

What program can open .cfg files?
Image
User avatar
kdrose23
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:33 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: help me please

Postby Andrew on Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:25 pm

Windows Notepad should do the trick.
Release Threads: NBA Live 08 | NBA Live 07 | NBA Live 06 | NBA Live 2005
Story Threads: NBA 2K13 | NBA Live 06 (Part 2) | NBA Live 06 (HOF) | NBA Live 2004 (HOF)
NLSC: Podcast | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube Channel


Image
Thanks to TheDee for the signature!
User avatar
Andrew
Old School Rose
Administrator
 
Posts: 87129
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Australia

Re: help me please

Postby kdrose23 on Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:19 am

I've set the config into what it stated in the said settings, the one with the red text. I have 800x600 resolution. And it doesn't work. Still no letters :(
Image
User avatar
kdrose23
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:33 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: help me please

Postby stormseeker on Thu Dec 27, 2012 5:28 pm

still nothing happened -_-

i think it has to do with ati control panel
stormseeker
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 3:24 pm


Return to NBA 2K13

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests